It’s easier to make a pop or dance song as Song of The Week.  The adjectives are more descriptive, and when in doubt, just TYPE IN CAPS AND TALK ABOUT HOW LOUD AND FUN THE BEATS ARE.  Plus, the minute I describe Fleet Foxes as “folk,” half of you will close your browsers.  Yup, I now have only one person reading.  Thank you for sticking with me, Mom.

Yes, Fleet Foxes are more mellow than, say, Asteroids Galaxy Tour.  But lead singer Robin Pecknold has been absent from the scene since White Winter Hymnal was released in 2008, so this live track (from BBC Radio 6) was quite a surprise.  No harmonies (which is usually a FF staple), but this unique song is still wonderfully crafted.  I can’t stop listening to “Blue Spotted Tail” and I hope you feel the same way.

Download Fleet Foxes – Blue Spotted Tail

