Laura Jansen - Photo Credit: Jeff Koga

Laura Jansen - Photo Credit: Jeff Koga

Back in April, I saw Meiko at Saint Rocke in Hermosa.  Laura Jansen was one of the openers.  I never heard of her but was quickly impressed.  And though I had a final paper to finish for class, I immediately went home and scoured the internet to find an mp3 of her track, “Wicked World.”  To no avail, since it hadn’t been recorded yet.  I finished the paper, though. Thanks for asking.

When I was a kid, I loved those fairy tale books where the Big Bad Wolf or the Wicked Witch would tell the “true story” of what “really happened” in their far off place.  “Wicked World” is a bit of a take on that.  Jansen’s piano skills and the story she creates through the instrument are what really drew me in when I first heard that song, and every time I listen to it.  The lyrics are simultaneously hilarious, yet still encompass reality.  Like many of her songs on her Single Girls EP, Jansen highlights relationships, as in lyrics like these:

Once, I tried to be so good
All sweet and spice like good girls should.
But I don’t see why I try — why do I try?
When every time I climb that hill,
My Jack is up there chasing Jill.


Support the artist. Buy the music.
EP – Single Girls
Single – Wicked World

Why do I try, why do I try? When every time I climb that hill, my Jack is up there chasing Jill.

