I (translation: my bank account, and my fridge) am still recovering from last week.  Regina Spektor, The Phenomenal Handclap Band, Deer Tick, Pete Yorn, and Dinosaur Jr. put me about $50 in the hole.  Because, of course I had to download their albums the day they were released.  Um, duh.

Luckily, only two albums worth buying yesterday, the day of their release.  Take note, young samurais:

Moby - Wait For Me

Moby – Wait For Me
Download Moby -Pale Horses
Wilco, Wilco, Wilco.  That’s all I’ve been reading about on blogs and hearing about from all of the DJs.  I’ll get to them in a second.  The real gem of the week is Moby, Moby, Moby.  Wait For Me is creative, refined, and mature.  It is still classic, experimental Moby, yet it’s evident he has become more grounded than in albums past.  Definitely get this album.  As of 7/1, it’s only $3.99 at Amazon.  Even at it’s normal price, it’s worth it.  The title track is getting some play on independent stations, and is my favorite.

Wilco - Wilco (The Album)

Wilco – Wilco (The Album)
Download Wilco – I’ll Fight
Fine boys, you get your (deserved) time in the spotlight.  Where Moby is experimental, Wilco sticks to what they do best.  Jeff Tweedy and his band are on their seventh studio album now, and if you like the steady, mellow vibe they had going on Sky Blue Sky, then you will like this album.  Which means, I like this album.  For the nay-sayers who say, “This ain’t no Yankee Hotel Foxtrot,” you’re right.  It’s Wilco (The Album). And use proper grammar.

Granted, other albums released on Tuesday: Bjork, Wu Tang Clan (yeah, they’re still making music.  Well, those that aren’t making memories in San Quentin, anyway) and other artists released material I won’t be listening to.  So I won’t tell you to… which means I get to stop writing and read go to sleep early get caught up on episodes of the Bachelorette.

