make a wish

Happy Birrrrthdaaaay...

Okay so it’s no longer my birthday month.  Whatever. I can still play whatever I like.

Better than Birthday Cake, Part 2. Click here to download the mp3’s of all the songs listed. Or click here for part 1.

The Features – The Drawing Board
Album – Some Kind Of Salvation (out July 28)

Band of Skulls – I Know What I Am
Album: Baby Darling Doll Face Honey
The song is loud, upbeat, and makes you want to get up and run and jump around, as do many of the other tracks on the album.  But the mere title of the album is enough of a reason to buy it.  Call me crazy.  Go on, I dare you.  But I’m serious.  And right.

An Horse (pictured)- Camp Out
Album: Rearrange Beds
For Fans of: Tegan and Sara

Camera Obscura – Swans
Album – My Maudlin Career
For Fans Of: She And Him

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – 40 Day Dream
Album: Here Comes
An LA band you should pay close attention to.  I have not heard one song I have not LOVED.


Nat King Cole
(pictured) (produced by Cut Chemist) – Day In – Day Out
Album – Re:Generations
Oh, love.  Love, love, love is in the air.  I grew up on Nat King Cole, and was so excited for the release of this album.  Each song is remixed by an awesome producer, be it Cut Chemist, Cee Lo, or another famous DJ.  Natalie Cole, of course, also appears on a track.

Miike Snow – Animal
Album – Miike Snow
For Fans Of: Passion Pit, La Roux

Animal Collective – Summertime Clothes (Dam-Funk Remix)
Album – Single (available July 7)

This is where I turn in my indie card, shamefully, and admit that I am not a fan of Animal Collective.  I *do* like Summertime Clothes, and My Girls.  But as a whole, I don’t like the band.  They take a bunch of sounds and make one big mess.  SORRY! Feel free to not read this blog ever again.
BUT! This mix is great.  Perfect for summer, or any time.  This is a perfect example of the perfect remix: it doesn’t re-invent the song; it simply brings out the very best of the song and makes it that much better.  It highlights it.  Dam-SEXY remix is what it should be called.


Jason Lytle
(pictured) – Yours Truly, The Commuter
Album – Yours Truly, The Commuter
For Fans Of: Bill Callahan, John Vanderslice

J. Tillman – Earthly Bodies
Album: Year In The Kingdom (releases September 22)
J. Tillman is better known as the lead singer of Fleet Foxes.  If this song is any indication, Year In The Kingdom is going to be a hit.

