A few weeks ago, my friend Steph and I were excited to head out to Detroit Bar and see Hockey open for the Friendly Fires. Sadly, the first email I get the morning of the show was from the ticketing company I purchased through, saying the show was cancelled due to the Friendly Fires’ “scheduling conflicts.”
Blah to that.
Enough of my ranting. This song of the week come’s from Portland-based Hockey. I had already planned to feature the band, and this was a perfect week, considering the Ducks beat the Sharks last night in the first round of the NHL playoffs (and every review I’ve read of this band references the sport in some corny way. Go me for being unique.)

After hearing their single “Work” a few months ago, I became an instant fan of the band.  Their single, “3AM Spanish”  is a perfect example of their indie rock, new-wave sound.  If you like this song, be sure to check out their song “Too Fake” as well.

Their Capitol album debut, Mind Chaos is being re-mixed, re-mastered, and re-released (with some new songs added) on August 25.

Given the last three songs featured for Song of the Week, you probably think I’m only into the new-wave dance type music.  That’s actually pretty far from the truth, but perhaps I’m in a new phase right now.  Lucky you.

Download Hockey – “3AM Spanish”

FacebookMyspace

